Cards · Guide

Chase Ink Business Preferred vs Ramp Card: Fees, Rewards and Payment Terms

Compare Chase Ink Business Preferred and the Ramp corporate card on annual fee, rewards, software fees and payment terms, with a break-even cash back rate.

·Oct 19, 2026·6 min read
Rate data reviewed recently·Methodology →

Turn this guide into a decision

Read the guidance, then compare current options and run the numbers for your situation.

$95
Ink Business Preferred annual fee
Chase terms read October 19, 2026
$0
Ramp card annual fee
Ramp card page read October 19, 2026
3 points per $1
Ink Preferred bonus rate
On the first $150,000 a year in listed categories
30-day payback
Ramp charge card terms
No interest charges listed by Ramp
!The Bottom Line

Ink Business Preferred wins when a large share of your spending is in its bonus categories. Ramp can win on simplicity and control if its cash back rate beats the break-even rate for your spending. Get Ramp's actual rate before you decide.

How to choose

What to weigh before you pick

It usually comes down to 3 things. Compare your options on each before deciding.

Rewards rate

What you earn on the spending you actually do.

Annual fee

The fee weighed against the rewards and credits you will use.

Sign-up bonus

The intro offer and the spend required to earn it.

Key Takeaways
  • Chase lists a $95 annual fee for Ink Business Preferred. Ramp says its cards have no annual fee.
  • Ink Preferred pays 3 points per dollar on the first $150,000 a year in listed categories and 1 point on everything else.
  • Ramp's own pages do not state its cash back rate, so the safest comparison is the break-even rate shown below.

Quick answer

Chase Ink Business Preferred charges a $95 annual fee and pays 3 points per dollar on the first $150,000 a year in travel, shipping, internet, cable, phone and ad spending. Ramp lists no annual fee but does not state its cash back rate. Ramp wins only if its rate beats the break-even rate in the table below.

What each issuer says

All figures below were read from the issuers' own pages on October 19, 2026. Terms change, so check them again before you apply.

Chase Ink Business Preferred. The Chase product page lists a $95 annual fee and a variable APR of 17.99% to 26.99%. It pays 3 points per $1 on the first $150,000 spent each account anniversary year in shipping, advertising on social media and search sites, internet, cable and phone, and travel. Everything else earns 1 point per $1 with no limit. It lists no foreign transaction fees and employee cards at no additional cost. The new cardmember offer is 100,000 bonus points after $8,000 of purchases in the first 3 months.

Ramp. Ramp's corporate card page says its corporate cards have no personal guarantee requirement and no annual fee. It describes a corporate charge card with 30-day payback and says Ramp offers cash back with no interest charges. The page does not give a cash back percentage. Ramp's pricing page lists a free plan at $0 per month per user. Its Plus plan is $15 per month per user plus a platform fee based on team size, and the platform fee amount is not shown.

Fees and terms side by side

Annual fee
Chase Ink Business Preferred
$95
Ramp card
None listed
Rewards
Chase Ink Business Preferred
3 points per $1 on first $150,000 a year in listed categories, 1 point elsewhere
Ramp card
Cash back, rate not stated by Ramp
Foreign transaction fee
Chase Ink Business Preferred
None listed
Ramp card
Not stated by Ramp
Paying the bill
Chase Ink Business Preferred
Variable APR 17.99% to 26.99%, Pay Over Time option
Ramp card
Charge card, 30-day payback, no interest charges
Employee cards
Chase Ink Business Preferred
No additional cost
Ramp card
Unlimited physical and virtual cards
Software
Chase Ink Business Preferred
Not part of the card
Ramp card
Free plan, or Plus at $15 per user per month plus a platform fee
Personal guarantee
Chase Ink Business Preferred
Not stated on the product page
Ramp card
None, according to Ramp

The break-even cash back rate

Because Ramp does not state its rate, this table flips the question. It shows what flat cash back rate Ramp would need to pay to match Ink Business Preferred, using an assumption of 1 cent per point. All three examples assume $60,000 a year of total card spending, which is $5,000 a month.

$6,000
Ink Preferred points
72,000
Value at 1 cent
$720
After the $95 fee
$625
Break-even rate for Ramp
1.04%
$24,000
Ink Preferred points
108,000
Value at 1 cent
$1,080
After the $95 fee
$985
Break-even rate for Ramp
1.64%
$36,000
Ink Preferred points
132,000
Value at 1 cent
$1,320
After the $95 fee
$1,225
Break-even rate for Ramp
2.04%

Here is the math for the middle row. Spending of $24,000 in bonus categories earns 3 points per dollar, which is 72,000 points. The other $36,000 earns 1 point per dollar, which is 36,000 points. The total is 108,000 points. At 1 cent each that is $1,080. Subtract the $95 fee to get $985. Divide $985 by $60,000 of total spending and you get 1.64%.

So with this spending, Ramp would need to pay about 1.64% on every dollar to match Ink Preferred. These are examples, not Ramp's rate or Chase's guarantee. If you redeem points for less than 1 cent, Ink Preferred looks weaker. If you redeem for more, it looks stronger.

The welcome offers are left out. Chase's 100,000 points after $8,000 is a one-time offer, and Ink Preferred may not be available to you if you have held the card before. The Ramp pages we read state no comparable offer.

When Ink Business Preferred is the better fit

  • A large share of your spending is shipping, ads on social media or search sites, internet, cable, phone or travel.
  • You may want Chase's Pay Over Time option, which comes with interest.
  • You want points you can redeem for travel.

When Ramp is the better fit

  • You want expense tracking, spending limits and receipt matching on every employee card.
  • Your spending is spread across categories where Ink Preferred pays only 1 point.
  • You can pay the balance on time every cycle and do not need a revolving balance.
  • Ramp's quoted cash back rate is above the break-even rate for your spending.

What to check before you apply

  1. Ask Ramp for the exact cash back rate and any fees for your team size.
  2. Read Chase's pricing and terms link for the full fee and penalty schedule.
  3. Confirm whether either card requires a personal guarantee for your business.
  4. Add the Ramp plan cost, if you need a paid plan, to the Ramp side of the comparison.

For other card pairs and your own numbers, use our business card fees vs rewards calculator. For fee lines to compare on any business card, read our guide to business credit card fees.

Methodology and sources

Reviewed October 19, 2026: Chase Ink Business Preferred product page, Ramp corporate card page and Ramp pricing page, linked above. Examples use 1 cent per point and $60,000 of yearly spending as assumptions. Terms that an issuer's page does not state are marked as not stated, not guessed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is cheaper, Chase Ink Business Preferred or the Ramp card?
Ramp lists no annual fee and Ink Business Preferred lists a $95 annual fee. Cost is only part of it. Ink Preferred can earn enough bonus points to cover its fee, and Ramp can charge per-user software fees on its paid plans. Compare the net result at your own spending.
Does the Ramp card charge an annual fee?
No. Ramp's corporate card page says its cards have no annual fee. Its paid software plans are priced separately, at $15 per month per user plus a platform fee based on team size for the Plus plan.
What cash back rate does Ramp pay?
Ramp's own card and pricing pages do not state a rate. They say the card offers cash back. Ask Ramp for the rate your company would get, then compare it with the break-even rate in this guide.
Can I carry a balance on the Ramp card?
Ramp describes it as a corporate charge card with 30-day payback and says it has no interest charges. Plan to pay the balance on time. Chase lists a variable APR of 17.99% to 26.99% on Ink Business Preferred and a Pay Over Time option.
Do Ink Business Preferred points always beat cash back?
No. The 3 points per dollar apply only to the first $150,000 a year in listed categories. Other purchases earn 1 point per dollar. Points are worth what you redeem them for, so this guide uses 1 cent per point as an assumption you can change.
Can I have both cards?
Yes. Some owners put category spending on Ink Business Preferred and use a Ramp card for employee spending and expense control. Each issuer decides who is approved, so approval is never guaranteed.
Newsletter

The 5-minute money briefing

One email per week. New rates, fed moves, and what to actually do about them.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Your next step

Act on this: today's top cards

See credit cards →

Ranked by SwitchWize's composite score. SwitchWize currently has no compensated product links.

Editorial review

What changed since the last update

Reviewed dataRate references, product links, and dated claims were checked against current SwitchWize sources.
Updated contextRelated calculators, Money Map paths, and offer links were refreshed for this article topic.
StandardsReviewed under the SwitchWize editorial policy. See standards →

Was this guide helpful?

Found an inaccurate, outdated, or missing claim? Report a correction. We verify reports against the relevant source before changing a guide or ranking.

Why SwitchWize

SwitchWize was founded on the simple belief that banking should work for people, not the other way around. We break down information barriers with transparent rate comparisons, clear guidance, and simple tools — so every American can decide with confidence.

Read our full ethos