Cards · Guide

Capital One Spark Cash vs Amex Blue Business Cash 2026

Capital One Spark Cash vs Amex Blue Business Cash compared on annual fee, cash back, spending cap and intro APR, with the spending level where each wins.

·Updated Oct 20, 2026·6 min read
First published Aug 6, 2026·Rate data reviewed recently·Methodology →

Next steps

Read the guidance, then compare current options and run the numbers for your situation.

2% unlimited
Capital One Spark Cash
$0 annual fee the first year, then $95
2% then 1%
Amex Blue Business Cash
2% on the first $50,000 a year, 1% after, $0 annual fee
12 months at 0%
Blue Business Cash intro APR
On purchases, then a variable APR of 16.99% to 28.74%
About $59,500
Spending where Spark Cash catches up
After Spark's first year, when its $95 fee applies
!The Bottom Line

Blue Business Cash is cheaper to hold and earns more up to about $59,500 a year of spending after Spark's first year. Spark Cash earns more above that, because its 2% has no cap. Check your yearly spending against the table before you choose.

How to choose

What to weigh before you pick

It usually comes down to 3 things. Compare your options on each before deciding.

Rewards rate

What you earn on the spending you actually do.

Annual fee

The fee weighed against the rewards and credits you will use.

Sign-up bonus

The intro offer and the spend required to earn it.

Key Takeaways
  • Spark Cash pays an unlimited 2%. Its annual fee is $0 the first year and $95 after that.
  • Blue Business Cash pays 2% on the first $50,000 a year, then 1%, with no annual fee.
  • After Spark's first year, Blue Business Cash earns more until about $59,500 of yearly spending. Above that, Spark Cash earns more.

Quick answer

Both cards pay 2% at first. Blue Business Cash drops to 1% after $50,000 a year but has no annual fee. Spark Cash keeps paying 2% with no cap but charges $95 after the first year. After the first year, Spark Cash earns more only if you spend about $59,500 or more on the card in a year.

What each issuer says

All figures were read on October 19 and 20, 2026. The Spark Cash figures come from Capital One's Spark Cash page, and the Blue Business Cash figures come from the text of Amex's card page. Terms change, so check them again before you apply.

Capital One Spark Cash. The Capital One Spark Cash page lists an annual fee of $0 for the first year and $95 after that. It pays unlimited 2% cash back on every purchase, with no limits or category restrictions. It says you pay zero foreign transaction fees and lists a 24.74% variable purchase APR. Employee cards are described as free. The welcome offer is $1,000 cash back after you spend $10,000 in the first 3 months, and it may not be available to existing or previous Capital One business cardholders. The page does not say whether the balance must be paid in full.

Amex Blue Business Cash. The Amex card page lists an annual fee of $0. It pays 2% cash back on the first $50,000 of eligible purchases per calendar year and 1% after that, credited to your statement. It lists 0% intro APR on purchases for 12 months, then a variable APR of 16.99% to 28.74%. The welcome offer is up to a $500 statement credit after $5,000 of purchases in 3 months, and offers vary. Employee cards earn cash back the same way. The page does not state a foreign transaction fee.

Fees and terms side by side

Annual fee
Capital One Spark Cash
$0 first year, then $95
Amex Blue Business Cash
$0
Rewards
Capital One Spark Cash
Unlimited 2%
Amex Blue Business Cash
2% on first $50,000 a year, then 1%
Intro APR
Capital One Spark Cash
Not stated on the page we read
Amex Blue Business Cash
0% on purchases for 12 months
Regular APR
Capital One Spark Cash
24.74% variable
Amex Blue Business Cash
Variable, 16.99% to 28.74%
Foreign transaction fee
Capital One Spark Cash
None
Amex Blue Business Cash
Not stated on the page we read
Employee cards
Capital One Spark Cash
Free
Amex Blue Business Cash
Earn cash back like the main card
Welcome offer
Capital One Spark Cash
$1,000 after $10,000 in 3 months
Amex Blue Business Cash
Up to $500 after $5,000 in 3 months

Which card earns more

The table shows yearly cash back after the annual fee. The first-year column treats Spark's fee as $0. The later-years column subtracts the $95 fee.

$30,000
Spark Cash, year one
$600
Spark Cash, later years
$505
Blue Business Cash
$600
Higher in later years
Blue Business Cash
$50,000
Spark Cash, year one
$1,000
Spark Cash, later years
$905
Blue Business Cash
$1,000
Higher in later years
Blue Business Cash
$80,000
Spark Cash, year one
$1,600
Spark Cash, later years
$1,505
Blue Business Cash
$1,300
Higher in later years
Spark Cash
$100,000
Spark Cash, year one
$2,000
Spark Cash, later years
$1,905
Blue Business Cash
$1,500
Higher in later years
Spark Cash

Here is the math for $80,000. Spark Cash earns 2% of $80,000, which is $1,600, and $1,505 after the $95 fee. Blue Business Cash earns 2% of the first $50,000, which is $1,000, plus 1% of the other $30,000, which is $300. That is $1,300 with no fee.

In Spark's first year the two tie up to $50,000, and Spark Cash earns more above that. In later years Blue Business Cash earns more until about $59,500, where 2% of spending minus $95 equals $500 plus 1% of spending. These are examples, not guarantees, and they leave out welcome offers and any interest.

Where Capital One Spark Cash wins

  • You spend well above $50,000 a year on the card, so the 2% with no cap pays off.
  • You want a stated zero foreign transaction fee.
  • The larger welcome offer matters to you, and you are likely to qualify for it.

Where Amex Blue Business Cash wins

  • You spend less than about $59,500 a year on the card.
  • You want no annual fee in any year.
  • You may finance a purchase in the first year and want the 0% intro APR.

How to choose between them

  1. Estimate your yearly card spending.
  2. Pick the row in the table closest to it.
  3. Check whether you will spend abroad, and read Amex's Rates and Fees page for its foreign fee.
  4. Decide whether the 0% intro APR or the larger Spark welcome offer matters more to you.

For another comparison with a card that pays bonus points, see Amex Blue Business Cash vs Chase Ink Business Preferred. To run your own numbers, try the business card fees vs rewards calculator.

Methodology

Reviewed October 19 and 20, 2026: the Capital One Spark Cash page and the Amex Blue Business Cash card page, linked above. The examples use only the stated rates, caps and fees, and leave out welcome offers. Terms an issuer's page does not state are marked as not stated, not guessed. Refresh by November 19, 2026, sooner if either issuer changes terms.

This is educational information, not personalized financial advice.

Sources

  • CFPB: Credit cards explains how to compare credit card terms, rewards structures, and fees.

Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between Capital One Spark Cash and Spark Cash Plus?
They are two different cards. Capital One lists Spark Cash with an annual fee of $0 for the first year and $95 after that. Spark Cash Plus lists a $150 fee that is refunded when you spend at least $150,000 a year. Both pay a flat 2% cash back.
Does Amex Blue Business Cash have spending category bonuses?
No. Amex lists a flat 2% cash back on eligible purchases up to $50,000 per calendar year, then 1% after that. There are no bonus categories on the page we read.
Which has a lower annual fee, Spark Cash or Blue Business Cash?
Blue Business Cash lists an annual fee of $0. Spark Cash lists $0 for the first year and $95 after that.
Is a flat-rate business card better than a bonus-category card for a small business?
It depends on how predictable your spending categories are. A flat-rate card earns the same rate on every purchase. A bonus-category card can earn more, but only if a large share of your spending falls in its listed categories.
Do Spark Cash and Blue Business Cash charge foreign transaction fees?
Capital One says Spark Cash charges zero foreign transaction fees. The Amex card page we read does not state a foreign transaction fee, so check Amex's Rates and Fees page before using the card abroad.
Newsletter

The 5-minute money briefing

One email per week. New rates, fed moves, and what to actually do about them.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Your next step

Act on this: today's top cards

See credit cards →

Ranked by SwitchWize's composite score. SwitchWize currently has no compensated product links.

Editorial review

What changed since the last update

Reviewed dataRate references, product links, and dated claims were checked against current SwitchWize sources.
Updated contextRelated calculators, Money Map paths, and offer links were refreshed for this article topic.
StandardsReviewed under the SwitchWize editorial policy. See standards →

Was this guide helpful?

Found an inaccurate, outdated, or missing claim? Report a correction. We verify reports against the relevant source before changing a guide or ranking.

Why SwitchWize

SwitchWize was founded on the simple belief that banking should work for people, not the other way around. We break down information barriers with transparent rate comparisons, clear guidance, and simple tools — so every American can decide with confidence.

Read our full ethos