How to choose
What to weigh before you pick
It usually comes down to 3 things. Compare your options on each before deciding.
What you earn on the spending you actually do.
The fee weighed against the rewards and credits you will use.
The intro offer and the spend required to earn it.
- Spark Cash Plus pays a flat 2% cash back. Its $150 annual fee is refunded when you spend at least $150,000 a year.
- Ink Business Preferred charges $95 and pays 3 points per dollar on the first $150,000 a year in listed categories, 1 point elsewhere.
- On $60,000 of yearly spending at 1 cent per point, Spark Cash Plus earns more unless most of your spending is in Ink's bonus categories.
Quick answer
Spark Cash Plus pays a flat 2% on everything and charges a $150 fee that is refunded at $150,000 of yearly spending. Ink Business Preferred charges $95 and pays 3 points per dollar in listed categories. At 1 cent per point and $60,000 of spending, Ink wins only if about $27,000 or more is in its bonus categories.
What each issuer says
All figures were read from the issuers' own pages on October 19, 2026. Terms change, so check them again before you apply.
Capital One Spark Cash Plus. The Capital One Spark Cash Plus page lists an annual fee of $150, refunded each year when you spend at least $150,000. It pays unlimited 2% cash back on every purchase, with no limits or category restrictions, and charges zero foreign transaction fees. It says the card is designed to be paid in full, with an option to carry part of a balance with interest. The APR is not stated on the page we read. Employee and virtual cards are described as free. The page lists a $2,000 cash bonus after $30,000 of spending in the first 3 months.
Chase Ink Business Preferred. The Chase product page lists a $95 annual fee and variable APR ranges that start at 17.99%. It pays 3 points per $1 on the first $150,000 of combined purchases each account anniversary year in travel, shipping, social media and search engine advertising, and internet, cable and phone. Everything else earns 1 point per $1. It says no foreign transaction fees apply. Employee cards cost nothing extra. The new cardmember offer is 100,000 bonus points after $8,000 of purchases in 3 months, and it may not be available if you have held the card before. Chase says redemption values vary by reward option.
Fees and terms side by side
- Capital One Spark Cash Plus
- $150, refunded at $150,000 of yearly spending
- Chase Ink Business Preferred
- $95
- Capital One Spark Cash Plus
- Flat 2% cash back, no limits
- Chase Ink Business Preferred
- 3 points per $1 on first $150,000 a year in listed categories, 1 point elsewhere
- Capital One Spark Cash Plus
- None
- Chase Ink Business Preferred
- None
- Capital One Spark Cash Plus
- Designed to be paid in full, interest if you carry part
- Chase Ink Business Preferred
- Variable APR, 17.99% and up
- Capital One Spark Cash Plus
- Free
- Chase Ink Business Preferred
- No additional cost
- Capital One Spark Cash Plus
- $2,000 cash after $30,000 in 3 months
- Chase Ink Business Preferred
- 100,000 points after $8,000 in 3 months
Which card earns more
The table assumes $60,000 of yearly card spending and 1 cent per Ink point. Spark Cash Plus earns the same $1,200 before its fee in every row, and the fee is $150 because $60,000 is below the $150,000 refund level. That leaves $1,050.
- Ink points
- 72,000
- Ink value at 1 cent
- $720
- Ink after $95 fee
- $625
- Spark Cash Plus after $150 fee
- $1,050
- Higher
- Spark Cash Plus
- Ink points
- 108,000
- Ink value at 1 cent
- $1,080
- Ink after $95 fee
- $985
- Spark Cash Plus after $150 fee
- $1,050
- Higher
- Spark Cash Plus
- Ink points
- 132,000
- Ink value at 1 cent
- $1,320
- Ink after $95 fee
- $1,225
- Spark Cash Plus after $150 fee
- $1,050
- Higher
- Ink Business Preferred
Here is the math for the middle row. Spending of $24,000 in bonus categories earns 3 points per dollar, which is 72,000 points. The other $36,000 earns 1 point per dollar, which is 36,000 points. The total is 108,000 points, or $1,080 at 1 cent each. Subtract the $95 fee to get $985. Spark Cash Plus earns 2% of $60,000, which is $1,200, and subtracting $150 leaves $1,050.
The two cards break even when about $27,000 of the $60,000 is in Ink's bonus categories at 1 cent per point. If you redeem Ink points for more than 1 cent, Ink looks better. If you redeem for less, Spark looks better. These are examples, not guarantees.
Welcome offers are left out because they are one-time and may change. Large spenders should rerun the math. At $150,000 or more the Spark Cash Plus fee is refunded, so it earns 2% with no fee.
When Spark Cash Plus is the better fit
- Your spending is spread across many kinds of purchases and little of it is in Ink's bonus categories.
- You want one simple rate and can pay the balance in full each month.
- You spend $150,000 or more a year, so the annual fee is refunded.
When Ink Business Preferred is the better fit
- A large share of your spending is shipping, ads on social media or search sites, internet, cable, phone or travel.
- You may want to carry a balance now and then, knowing that it costs interest.
- You value points you can redeem for travel.
What to check before you apply
- Total a year of your real card spending and split out the Ink bonus categories.
- Ask Capital One for the Spark Cash Plus APR and the full fee schedule.
- Read Chase's pricing and terms link for the penalty schedule.
- Check that the card fits how you pay: in full each month, or sometimes carrying a balance.
For other card pairs, see Chase Ink Business Preferred vs Ramp and Brex vs Ramp. For fee lines to compare on any business card, read our guide to business credit card fees.
Methodology and sources
Reviewed October 19, 2026: Capital One Spark Cash Plus page and Chase Ink Business Preferred product page, linked above. Examples use 1 cent per point and $60,000 of yearly spending as assumptions. Terms an issuer's page does not state are marked as not stated, not guessed. Refresh by November 18, 2026, sooner if either issuer changes terms.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better, Spark Cash Plus or Chase Ink Business Preferred?
What is the Spark Cash Plus annual fee?
What does Chase Ink Business Preferred charge for foreign purchases?
Can I carry a balance on Spark Cash Plus?
Are the welcome offers included in the comparison?
Do Ink Business Preferred points always equal 1 cent each?
The 5-minute money briefing
One email per week. New rates, fed moves, and what to actually do about them.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Act on this: today's top cards



Ranked by SwitchWize's composite score. SwitchWize currently has no compensated product links.
Editorial review
What changed since the last update
Was this guide helpful?
Found an inaccurate, outdated, or missing claim? Report a correction. We verify reports against the relevant source before changing a guide or ranking.