Cashback · Guide

Wells Fargo Active Cash vs Chase Freedom Unlimited: Which Pays More?

Wells Fargo Active Cash pays 2% on everything. Chase Freedom Unlimited pays 3% on dining and drugstores and 1.5% on the rest. Here is when each one pays more.

·Nov 4, 2026·9 min read
Rate data reviewed recently·Methodology →

Next steps

Read the guidance, then compare current options and run the numbers for your situation.

2%
Wells Fargo Active Cash
Cash rewards on purchases, no categories, as of November 2026
3% / 1.5%
Chase Freedom Unlimited
3% on dining and drugstores, 1.5% on everything else
5%
Chase Travel only
Freedom Unlimited pays 5% on travel booked through Chase Travel
$200 vs $100
Welcome bonus
Each needs $500 of purchases in the first 3 months
!The Bottom Line

Neither card pays more for everyone. Chase Freedom Unlimited pays more once your dining and drugstore spending is more than half of everything else you put on the card. Below that, Wells Fargo Active Cash pays more. Both have no annual fee, so many people carry both.

How to choose

What to weigh before you pick

It usually comes down to 3 things. Compare your options on each before deciding.

Rewards rate

What you earn on the spending you actually do.

Annual fee

The fee weighed against the rewards and credits you will use.

Sign-up bonus

The intro offer and the spend required to earn it.

Key Takeaways
  • Active Cash pays 2% on purchases. Freedom Unlimited pays 3% on dining and drugstores and 1.5% on the rest.
  • Freedom Unlimited pays more once dining plus drugstore spending is more than half of your other spending.
  • Freedom Unlimited has the bigger welcome bonus: $200 versus $100, each after $500 in 3 months.
  • Both have no annual fee, so carrying both and splitting purchases often pays the most.

The short answer

Wells Fargo Active Cash pays more for most budgets because 2% beats 1.5% on ordinary purchases. Chase Freedom Unlimited pays more once your dining and drugstore spending is more than half of your other spending. Both cards cost $0 a year.

Want to skip the reading? Run these two cards on your own spending and see which one pays you more in dollars.

Both cards are free to hold and both pay cash back. The difference is how they pay it. Active Cash pays one flat rate. Freedom Unlimited pays more on two kinds of purchases and less on everything else. This guide shows the exact point where one starts to beat the other.

All card facts below come from the issuers' own pages, as of November 2026. Rates and offers change, so check before you apply.

The two cards side by side

Annual fee
Wells Fargo Active Cash
$0
Chase Freedom Unlimited
$0
Everyday purchases
Wells Fargo Active Cash
2%
Chase Freedom Unlimited
1.5%
Dining, including takeout
Wells Fargo Active Cash
2%
Chase Freedom Unlimited
3%
Drugstores
Wells Fargo Active Cash
2%
Chase Freedom Unlimited
3%
Travel booked through Chase Travel
Wells Fargo Active Cash
2%
Chase Freedom Unlimited
5% (Chase Travel only)
Yearly cap on rewards
Wells Fargo Active Cash
None stated
Chase Freedom Unlimited
None stated
Welcome bonus
Wells Fargo Active Cash
$100 after $500 in 3 months
Chase Freedom Unlimited
$200 after $500 in 3 months
Intro interest rate (APR)
Wells Fargo Active Cash
0% for 12 months on purchases and qualifying balance transfers
Chase Freedom Unlimited
0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers
Regular interest rate (APR) after intro
Wells Fargo Active Cash
18.74%, 24.74% or 28.74% variable
Chase Freedom Unlimited
18.49% to 27.99% variable
Foreign purchase fee
Wells Fargo Active Cash
3%
Chase Freedom Unlimited
Not stated on Chase's product page

Sources: creditcards.wellsfargo.com and creditcards.chase.com, read November 2026.

Freedom Unlimited earns its rewards as points. Chase's page says each $1 of cash back equals 100 points. So you can treat its rewards as cash, worth their face value. Active Cash pays cash rewards, also worth face value.

The rule that decides it

Every dollar you spend on dining or drugstores earns 1 cent more on Freedom Unlimited. Every dollar you spend on anything else earns half a cent more on Active Cash.

So Freedom Unlimited needs $1 of dining for every $2 of other spending just to pay the same. Here is the rule in plain words:

  • If dining plus drugstores is more than half of your other spending, Freedom Unlimited pays more.
  • If it is less than half, Active Cash pays more.
  • At exactly half, they pay the same.

Travel booked through Chase Travel adds to Freedom Unlimited's side. It earns 3 cents more per dollar than Active Cash. But only if you actually book there.

Three budgets, worked out

Each example uses yearly spending. Cash back is worth its face value, so no point value is needed.

Budget 1: Spending spread across everything ($24,000 a year)

This person spends $2,400 on dining, $600 at drugstores and $21,000 on everything else.

Dining, $2,400
Active Cash
$48
Freedom Unlimited
$72
Drugstores, $600
Active Cash
$12
Freedom Unlimited
$18
Everything else, $21,000
Active Cash
$420
Freedom Unlimited
$315
Total per year
Active Cash
$480
Freedom Unlimited
$405

Active Cash pays $75 more. Dining and drugstores are $3,000, well under half of $21,000.

Budget 2: Eats out a lot ($30,000 a year)

This person spends $9,000 on dining, $1,000 at drugstores and $20,000 on everything else.

Dining, $9,000
Active Cash
$180
Freedom Unlimited
$270
Drugstores, $1,000
Active Cash
$20
Freedom Unlimited
$30
Everything else, $20,000
Active Cash
$400
Freedom Unlimited
$300
Total per year
Active Cash
$600
Freedom Unlimited
$600

Both pay $600. Dining and drugstores are $10,000, exactly half of $20,000. Move $1,000 from other spending to dining, and Freedom Unlimited pays $15 more.

Budget 3: Books trips through Chase Travel ($30,000 a year)

This person spends $6,000 on dining, $600 at drugstores, $3,000 on travel booked through Chase Travel and $20,400 on everything else.

Dining, $6,000
Active Cash
$120
Freedom Unlimited
$180
Drugstores, $600
Active Cash
$12
Freedom Unlimited
$18
Chase Travel, $3,000
Active Cash
$60
Freedom Unlimited
$150
Everything else, $20,400
Active Cash
$408
Freedom Unlimited
$306
Total per year
Active Cash
$600
Freedom Unlimited
$654

Freedom Unlimited pays $54 more. The Chase Travel bookings make the difference here.

Watch Out:

The 5% rate applies only to travel bought through Chase Travel. If the same hotel costs $40 more there than on the hotel's own site, you lose more than the extra rewards. Compare the two prices before you book.

The first year: the welcome bonus

Both bonuses need $500 in purchases in the first 3 months. That is about $167 a month, so most people reach it with normal spending.

  • Freedom Unlimited: $200.
  • Active Cash: $100.

So Freedom Unlimited starts year one $100 ahead. In Budget 1, Active Cash earns $75 more per year. So Freedom Unlimited still comes out $25 ahead in the first year. From year two on, Active Cash pays more for that person.

Welcome offers change often. The amounts here are what each issuer showed in November 2026.

When to hold both cards

Both cards cost $0 a year. So you can put dining, drugstores and Chase Travel bookings on Freedom Unlimited. Then put everything else on Active Cash at 2%.

Here is what that split earns for each budget above:

1: Spread out
Best single card
$480 (Active Cash)
Both cards, split
$510
Extra from splitting
$30
2: Eats out a lot
Best single card
$600 (either)
Both cards, split
$700
Extra from splitting
$100
3: Chase Travel
Best single card
$654 (Freedom Unlimited)
Both cards, split
$756
Extra from splitting
$102

For Budget 2, the split works like this. Dining and drugstores earn $300 on Freedom Unlimited. The other $20,000 earns $400 on Active Cash. That adds up to $700.

The cost is a second card to manage and a second bill to pay. If you might miss a payment, one card is safer. A late fee or a month of interest costs more than you gain.

Some people pair a Freedom card with a Chase card that has an annual fee and more ways to use points. That is a different choice. Our guide to pairing a cash back card with a points card covers it.

Who should pick each card

Pick Wells Fargo Active Cash if:

  • Most of your spending is groceries, gas, bills and shopping, not restaurants.
  • You want one rate and nothing to track.
  • You do not book travel through Chase's site.

Pick Chase Freedom Unlimited if:

  • Dining and drugstores are more than half of your other card spending.
  • You want the bigger welcome bonus.
  • You want the longer 0% intro period for a large purchase or a balance transfer.

Hold both if:

  • You spend a lot on dining and want 2% on the rest.
  • You pay both bills in full every month without fail.

Other things that differ

Intro interest rate. Freedom Unlimited gives 0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers. Active Cash gives 0% for 12 months on purchases and qualifying balance transfers. Both charge a balance transfer fee. If you carry a balance, interest will cost far more than any cash back. Our balance transfer guide explains how to use an intro period.

Phone and trip coverage. Active Cash includes up to $600 of cell phone protection against damage or theft. You pay the first $25 of each claim. Freedom Unlimited lists purchase protection and trip cancellation coverage. Read each card's benefit guide for the limits and rules.

Using the card abroad. Wells Fargo charges 3% on each foreign purchase with Active Cash. Chase's product page did not state a foreign fee for Freedom Unlimited when we checked. If you travel abroad often, a card with no foreign fee may suit you better.

How to decide in four steps

  1. Add up a year of card spending. Use three months of statements and multiply by four.
  2. Split out dining and drugstores. Compare that total with half of everything else.
  3. Count Chase Travel bookings only if you will really book there.
  4. Add the welcome bonus for year one, then compare.

The card vs card calculator does these steps for you. To see whether a cash back card or a travel card fits you better, try the cash back vs points vs miles calculator.

Sources

This is educational information, not personal financial advice.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which card pays more, Active Cash or Freedom Unlimited?
It depends on how much you spend on dining and drugstores. If that spending is more than half of your other card spending, Freedom Unlimited pays more. If it is less, Active Cash pays more. At exactly half, they pay the same.
What is the welcome bonus on each card?
As of November 2026, Chase Freedom Unlimited offers $200 after $500 in purchases in the first 3 months. Wells Fargo Active Cash offers $100 after $500 in purchases in the first 3 months. Offers change often, so check each issuer's page before you apply.
Do either of these cards charge an annual fee?
No. Both cards have a $0 annual fee as of November 2026. That means holding both costs nothing extra, as long as you pay your balance in full each month.
Does Freedom Unlimited really pay 5% on travel?
Only on travel you buy through Chase Travel, Chase's own booking site. A flight booked directly with an airline earns 1.5%. Compare the Chase Travel price with the airline's price before you book.
Which card is better for a balance transfer?
Freedom Unlimited has a longer intro period: 0% for 15 months on purchases and balance transfers. Active Cash offers 0% for 12 months on purchases and qualifying balance transfers. Both charge a balance transfer fee, so read the terms.
Can I use these cards abroad?
Wells Fargo charges a 3% fee on each foreign purchase with Active Cash. Chase's product page did not state the Freedom Unlimited foreign fee when we checked. Check Chase's pricing terms before using it abroad.
Newsletter

The 5-minute money briefing

One email per week. New rates, fed moves, and what to actually do about them.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Your next step

Act on this: today's top cashback

See cash back cards →

Ranked by SwitchWize's composite score. SwitchWize currently has no compensated product links.

Editorial review

What changed since the last update

Reviewed dataRate references, product links, and dated claims were checked against current SwitchWize sources.
Updated contextRelated calculators, Money Map paths, and offer links were refreshed for this article topic.
StandardsReviewed under the SwitchWize editorial policy. See standards →

Was this guide helpful?

Found an inaccurate, outdated, or missing claim? Report a correction. We verify reports against the relevant source before changing a guide or ranking.

Why SwitchWize

SwitchWize was founded on the simple belief that banking should work for people, not the other way around. We break down information barriers with transparent rate comparisons, clear guidance, and simple tools — so every American can decide with confidence.

Read our full ethos