All broker and robo-advisor reviews

Interactive Brokers review

A brokerage with a wide range of markets and a lower-cost tier called IBKR Lite. Below is what its own pages say about cost and protection, in its own words.

4 of 8 facts quoted. Oldest quote expires November 30, 2026.

Where Interactive Brokers comes out on top

Best for low fees

4 firms tie

How we decide: Lowest cost to buy a stock or ETF. Firms that tie are all named. The lower options fee breaks a tie only when every tied firm states it. Only firms with a current quote count. Based on 4 firms with current data. We need at least 4.

Fees, minimums and protections

Cost to buy a stock or ETF

$0

What the firm charges each time you buy or sell a stock or ETF online.

This is the IBKR Lite plan. The page lists other plans with per-share commissions.

“$0 commissions on US stocks and ETFs with IBKR Lite.”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint ef1d2abd.

Account minimum

$0

How much money you need to open the account.

“Low commissions with no added spreads, ticket charges, platform fees, or account minimums.”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 05a2cf41.

Options fee per contract

Not stated

The extra fee for each options contract you trade.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Interest on cash waiting to be invested

3.38%

The rate paid on cash you leave in the account.

As printed on the page on the day we read it. The page does not say which balances earn this rate.

“Earn USD 3.38% on uninvested cash.”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint e616bf01.

SIPC protection

Not stated

SIPC protects your investments if the firm fails. It does not protect against losses from the market.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Fractional shares

Yes

Whether you can buy part of a share.

“Commissions charged for fractional share trades and whole share trades are the same unless otherwise noted.”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 51f1911a.

Fee to move your whole account out

Not stated

What the firm charges if you move your whole account to another firm.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Retirement accounts (IRAs)

Not stated

Whether the firm offers IRAs.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Interest on idle cash, from our index

3.38% from Interactive Brokers page.

General information, not personal investment advice. Investing involves risk, including loss of money. SIPC protects against a firm failing, not against market losses. SwitchWize earns nothing from this page. Interactive Brokers website