All broker and robo-advisor reviews

Firstrade review

An online brokerage that advertises no commissions on stocks, ETFs and options. Below is what its own pages say about cost and protection, in its own words.

4 of 8 facts quoted. Oldest quote expires November 30, 2026.

Where Firstrade comes out on top

Best for low fees

4 firms tie

How we decide: Lowest cost to buy a stock or ETF. Firms that tie are all named. The lower options fee breaks a tie only when every tied firm states it. Only firms with a current quote count. Based on 4 firms with current data. We need at least 4.

Fees, minimums and protections

Cost to buy a stock or ETF

$0

What the firm charges each time you buy or sell a stock or ETF online.

“$0 Commission Trades”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint c213e898.

Account minimum

$0

How much money you need to open the account.

“No Minimums, No Inactivity Fees”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 08223c1f.

Options fee per contract

$0

The extra fee for each options contract you trade.

“$0 Options Contract Fees”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint db07b85b.

Interest on cash waiting to be invested

Not stated

The rate paid on cash you leave in the account.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

SIPC protection

Yes

SIPC protects your investments if the firm fails. It does not protect against losses from the market.

“Your account is insured by SIPC for up to $500,000”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 7d1563a1.

Fractional shares

Not stated

Whether you can buy part of a share.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Fee to move your whole account out

Not stated

What the firm charges if you move your whole account to another firm.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Retirement accounts (IRAs)

Not stated

Whether the firm offers IRAs.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Interest on idle cash, from our index

Not stated. The index does not currently list a rate for this firm.

General information, not personal investment advice. Investing involves risk, including loss of money. SIPC protects against a firm failing, not against market losses. SwitchWize earns nothing from this page. Firstrade website