All broker and robo-advisor reviews

Charles Schwab review

A large brokerage that offers stocks, ETFs, options, mutual funds and retirement accounts. Below is what its own pages say about cost and protection, in its own words.

4 of 8 facts quoted. Oldest quote expires November 18, 2026.

Where Charles Schwab comes out on top

Best for low fees

4 firms tie

How we decide: Lowest cost to buy a stock or ETF. Firms that tie are all named. The lower options fee breaks a tie only when every tied firm states it. Only firms with a current quote count. Based on 4 firms with current data. We need at least 4.

Fees, minimums and protections

Cost to buy a stock or ETF

$0

What the firm charges each time you buy or sell a stock or ETF online.

“U.S. Exchange-Listed Securities per Executed Trade* Online2 $0”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 865d5658.

Account minimum

Not stated

How much money you need to open the account.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Options fee per contract

$0.65

The extra fee for each options contract you trade.

“Option Commissions per Executed Trade Online $0 base commission, plus $0.65 per-contract fee”

Read October 19, 2026. Expires November 18, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint e4b4cd4d.

Interest on cash waiting to be invested

Not stated

The rate paid on cash you leave in the account.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

SIPC protection

Yes

SIPC protects your investments if the firm fails. It does not protect against losses from the market.

“All rights reserved. Member SIPC.”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 09f503f6.

Fractional shares

Not stated

Whether you can buy part of a share.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Fee to move your whole account out

Not stated

What the firm charges if you move your whole account to another firm.

We have no word-for-word quote for this. The firm page does not state it, or we could not read the page. We do not guess.

Retirement accounts (IRAs)

Yes

Whether the firm offers IRAs.

“Schwab IRA (includes Traditional, Rollover, Roth and Roth Conversion accounts)”

Read October 31, 2026. Expires November 30, 2026. Pending review by a person. Open the source page Fingerprint 1bc973e4.

Interest on idle cash, from our index

Not stated. The index does not currently list a rate for this firm.

General information, not personal investment advice. Investing involves risk, including loss of money. SIPC protects against a firm failing, not against market losses. SwitchWize earns nothing from this page. Charles Schwab website