Sallie Mae Bank vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs CD Comparison

Updated October 5, 2026 · Rates from official provider sources

SwitchWize verdict

Marcus by Goldman Sachs has the higher rate right now.

The APY gap is 0.10%. On a $25,000 balance, that is about $25/year. If the dollar difference is small, choose based on transfer speed, app fit, and whether you want other accounts in the same place.

Annual difference on $25K
$25
Marcus by Goldman Sachs vs Sallie Mae Bank
See current CD offers →

Sallie Mae Bank 1-Year CD

Sallie Mae Bank

APY4.30%
Term12 months
Min. Balance$2,500
Monthly FeeNot disclosed here
FDIC InsuredYes ✓
Annual on $25K$1,075
See current CD offers →
✓ Higher Rate

Marcus by Goldman Sachs 1-Year CD

Marcus by Goldman Sachs

APY4.40%
Term12 months
Min. Balance$500
Monthly FeeNot disclosed here
FDIC InsuredYes ✓
Annual on $25K$1,100
See current CD offers →

Dollar Difference by Balance

BalanceSallie Mae BankMarcus by Goldman SachsDifference
$10,000$430/yr$440/yr$10/yr
$25,000$1,075/yr$1,100/yr$25/yr
$50,000$2,150/yr$2,200/yr$50/yr
$100,000$4,300/yr$4,400/yr$100/yr

Advertising disclosure: As of September 26, 2026, SwitchWize has no active affiliate or referral agreements and no compensated product links.

Full disclosure →
SwitchWize Recommended

SoFi Checking & Savings

SoFi

3.80% APY
FDIC Insured

Based on your savings balance, this account maximizes your yield with FDIC protection.

✓No account fees
✓No minimum balance
✓FDIC insured up to $2M via partner banks
✓Get paid up to 2 days early
View SoFi

Advertising disclosure: SwitchWize currently has no compensated product links. Learn more

How to read this comparison

The rate table is useful for the math, but it is not the whole decision. Confirm current APY, transfer timing, account availability, minimum balance rules, and any linked-account requirements before opening. Rates can change after this page refreshes.

FAQ

Which is better, Sallie Mae Bank or Marcus by Goldman Sachs?

Marcus by Goldman Sachs currently pays 4.40% APY vs Sallie Mae Bank at 4.30% APY — a 0.10% point advantage. On $25,000, that difference is $25 per year.

Are Sallie Mae Bank and Marcus by Goldman Sachs FDIC insured?

Yes, both accounts are FDIC insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Can I have accounts at both?

Yes. There is no limit on how many 12-month CD accounts you can hold across different banks.