Barclays vs Synchrony CD Comparison

Updated November 4, 2026 · Rates from official provider sources

SwitchWize verdict

Barclays has the higher rate right now.

The APY gap is 0.20%. On a $25,000 balance, that is about $50/year. If the dollar difference is small, choose based on transfer speed, app fit, and whether you want other accounts in the same place.

Annual difference on $25K
$50
Barclays vs Synchrony
See current CD offers →
✓ Higher Rate

Barclays 1-Year CD

Barclays

APY4.50%
Term12 months
Min. BalanceNone
Monthly FeeNot disclosed here
FDIC InsuredYes ✓
Annual on $25K$1,125
See current CD offers →

Synchrony 1-Year CD

Synchrony

APY4.30%
Term12 months
Min. BalanceNone
Monthly FeeNot disclosed here
FDIC InsuredYes ✓
Annual on $25K$1,075
See current CD offers →

Dollar Difference by Balance

BalanceBarclaysSynchronyDifference
$10,000$450/yr$430/yr$20/yr
$25,000$1,125/yr$1,075/yr$50/yr
$50,000$2,250/yr$2,150/yr$100/yr
$100,000$4,500/yr$4,300/yr$200/yr

Advertising disclosure: As of October 15, 2026, SwitchWize has a Grasshopper Bank partner relationship through Fintel Connect. Compensation never changes organic rankings or comparison calculations. Identified partner links may compensate SwitchWize. Compensation does not affect organic rankings.

Full disclosure →
SwitchWize Recommended

SoFi Checking & Savings

SoFi

4.00% APY
FDIC Insured

Based on your savings balance, this account maximizes your yield with FDIC protection.

✓No account fees
✓No minimum balance
✓FDIC insured up to $2M via partner banks
✓Get paid up to 2 days early
View SoFi

Advertising disclosure: SwitchWize currently has no compensated product links. Learn more

How to read this comparison

The rate table is useful for the math, but it is not the whole decision. Confirm current APY, transfer timing, account availability, minimum balance rules, and any linked-account requirements before opening. Rates can change after this page refreshes.

FAQ

Which is better, Barclays or Synchrony?

Barclays currently pays 4.50% APY vs Synchrony at 4.30% APY — a 0.20% point advantage. On $25,000, that difference is $50 per year.

Are Barclays and Synchrony FDIC insured?

Yes, both accounts are FDIC insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Can I have accounts at both?

Yes. There is no limit on how many 12-month CD accounts you can hold across different banks.